IFS Individual Research Grants for Citizens of Developing Countries, 2015


International Foundation for Science (IFS) is offering research grants for citizens of developing countries. Grants are available for a period of up to 3 years. To be eligible, applicant must have at least an MSc/MA, be younger than 35 years of age (for men) or 40 years of age (for women) and must do research project in an IFS eligible country. These awards are awarded on merit in amounts up to USD 12,000 for one to three years. The application deadline is 31st December, 2014.

Study Subject(s): Proposals are sought under one of three research areas:
-Biological Resources in Terrestrial Systems: Including but not limited to: Biodiversity, Forestry, Natural Products, Renewable Energy and Climate Change.
-Water and Aquatic Resources: Including but not limited to: Water Resources Research; Research on all aspects of freshwater, brackish and marine aquatic organisms and their environments.
-Food Security, Dietary Diversity and Healthy Livelihoods: Including but not limited to: Research on Food Production; Animal Production and Veterinary Medicine; Crop Science including Underutilised Crops; Food Science and Nutrition, and Food Security issues.
Course Level: Grants are available for pursuing research programme.
Scholarship Provider: International Foundation for Science (IFS)
Scholarship can be taken at: IFS eligible country

Eligibility: Applicants for IFS Research Grants
-must be citizens of eligible countries and carry out their research in an eligible country (this does not have to be the country of citizenship)
-must have a minimum of an MSc, MA or equivalent academic degree
-must be (for men) younger than 35 years of age, and (for women) 40 years of age[If the applicant’s 35th (men)/40th (women) birthday is on or after the closing date of the call, he/she is still eligible.]

Researchers, who are already IFS grantees, are eligible to apply for a renewal grant irrespective of age.

Scholarship Open for International Students: Citizens of developing countries (Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahamas, Bahrain Bangladesh, Barbados, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana, Brazil, Brunei, Bulgaria, Burkina Faso, Burma, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African, Republic Chad, Chile, People’s Republic of China, Colombia, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Republic of the Congo, Costa Rica, Côte d’Ivoire, Croatia, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, El Salvador, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, The Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guatemala, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Indonesia, India, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Latvia, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Lithuania, Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mexico, Federated States of Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro, Morocco, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Nicaragua, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Panama, Papua New Guinea, Paraguay, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Romania, Russia, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Samoa, São Tomé and Príncipe, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint- Vincent and the Grenadines, South Sudan, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uruguay, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Venezuela, Vietnam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe) can apply for these grants.

Scholarship Description: Providing early-career support to promising young developing country researchers has been the mandate of the International Foundation for Science (IFS) for many years. Building on this experience, the new IFS Strategy 2011-2020, launched in 2011, emphasizes three approaches:
Individual Research (this call)
Collaborative Research
Contributing Innovation
In the Individual Research Approach, IFS continues its commitment to support excellent individual research and to build capability of early-career scientists in the developing world to undertake research on the sustainable management of biological and water resources. Applicants are encouraged to tackle research issues linked to these areas, and to develop solutions that are relevant to local contexts. By encouraging local researchers to work in their home countries, generating cutting-edge and locally relevant knowledge, we hope to contribute to strengthening their countries’ research capability and ultimately contributing to a global research community aimed at reducing poverty and supporting sustainable development.

Number of award(s): Not Known

Duration of award(s): Grants are available for a period of up to 3 years.

What does it cover? Individual Research grants are awarded on merit in amounts up to USD 12,000 for one to three years. Grants are intended for the purchase of basic tools for research: equipment, expendable supplies and literature, as well as field activities.

Selection criteria: Research grants are awarded on the basis of merit.

Notification: Applicants will be informed about the outcome of the competitive review process before the 31st July, 2015.

How to Apply: Applications may be sent by email.

Scholarship Application Deadline: The application deadline is 31st December, 2014.

For more information click http://www.ifs.se/




Введите имя:
Текст комментария:

Разместить Отмена

Оставить комментарий

Дата последнего изменения: 30.11.-0001

© ОсОО "Центр бизнеса и инноваций" / Проект Образование и учеба в Кыргызстане Edc.kg 2014-2017. Все права защищены. При использовании опубликованных материалов прямая ссылка на ресурс edc.kg обязательна.